March 31, 1975, spent about \$102 million on operating accounts and about \$32 million on capital projects. Of these expenditures, approximately \$12 million was raised within the Territories through taxes, licences and liquor revenues and \$5.6 million was recovered from residents of the Territories for services supplied.

Commissioner, Council and Council staff of the Northwest Territories as at December 31, 1974Commissioner, S.M. HodgsonDon M. Stewart, Ludy Pudluk, Tom Butters,Deputy Commissioner, J.H. ParkerPeter Ernerk, George Barnaby, William Lafferty,Clerk of the Council, W.H. RemnantArnold McCallum, Bryan Pearson, John Steen,Legal Adviser, J.R. SlavenDave Nickerson, David Searle.Members of the Council: Bill Lyall, IpeeleeKilabuk, Mark Evaluarjuk, James Wah-Shee.

3.4 Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry

3.4.1 Federal commissions

Royal Commissions, now generally called Commissions of Inquiry, established up to May 1, 1970 under Part I of the Inquiries Act are given in previous editions of the *Canada Year Book* beginning with the 1940 edition. The following list presents the federal commissions established between that date and April 30, 1975, and the name of the chief commissioner or chairman.

Airport Inquiry Commission, Hon. Justice Hugh F. Gibson

Foreign Claims Commission, Hon. Thane A. Campbell

Food Prices Review Board, Mrs. Beryl Plumptre

Parliamentary Accommodation, Hon. D.C. Abbott

Inquiry into the Marketing of Beef, Mr. Maxwell W. Mackenzie

Steel Profits Inquiry, Mr. Justice W.L. Estey

Royal Commission on Corporate Concentration, Robert Bryce.

Federal commissions submitting final reports between those dates are: Farm Machinery Costs (under Chairman C.L. Barber), Status of Women in Canada (under Mrs. J. Bird), Steel Profits Inquiry and the Airport Inquiry Commission. In addition to the other active commissions established since 1970, the Indian Claims Commission, which was established under Chairman Dr. L.I. Barber in December 1969, is still operating.

3.4.2 Provincial commissions

The following list presents the provincial commissions established since December 31, 1973, the name of the chief commissioner or chairman, and the date each was established:

Newfoundland

St. John's Urban and Regional Study, Alex G. Henley, June 7, 1974

Enquiry into Conditions of Events Leading to the Closing of Upper Gillies Elementary School, Magistrate Terrence J. Corbett, November 5, 1974.

Quebec

Inquiry into the freedom of activity in the trade union movement in the construction industry, Robert Cliche, March 25, 1974.

Ontario

To inquire into the circumstances respecting the conduct and the performance of duties by police officers and constables at the Landmark Motor Inn Hotel in or about the town of Fort Erie on May 11, 1974, His Hon. Judge John Abercrombie Pringle, June 7, 1974

To inquire into the nature and extent and causes of the flooding of the Grand River on May 16, 17 and 18, 1974, His Hon. Judge Wilfred Wesley Leach, June 19, 1974

To investigate all matters related to health and safety involved in the working conditions and working environment in mines in Ontario, Dr. James Milton Ham, September 10, 1974

To examine, evaluate and make appropriate recommendations on the structure, organization and operations of local government within the Metropolitan Toronto area, including all municipal governments, boards and commissions, Hon, John P. Robarts, September 10, 1974

To inquire into all allegations made by certain persons respecting the manner in which inmates have been treated at the Toronto jail, His Hon. Judge B. Shapiro, October 9, 1974

To inquire into recent allegations made against certain members of the Metropolitan Toronto Police Force, Mr. Justice Donald Raymond Morand, October 23, 1974.

106